Pashley delivery bike, what have I taken on ??

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Tail End Charlie

Well, write it down boy ......
Picked this up yesterday from a friend having a garage clear out. A pre war Pashley delivery bike which is in need of a lot of TLC. It's been in his family from new. I think it's complete, even down to the sign which advertises a plumber.
It's my first project like this and my intention is to try and get it useable, rather than pristine, powder coated in all likelihood. Any pointers to good web sites for bits like brake blocks would be gratefully received. Or is it not really worth the bother?
20160223_144859.jpg

20160223_144910.jpg

Drago

Legendary Member
Only you can know if the effort, the journey, and the final satisfaction would be worth the bother.

I don't think it is worth much, it would be an ignoble end for it to survive The Bosche only to die like this.

tyred

Legendary Member
Doesn't look too bad. Most of it will be re-usable and the frame will probably clean up better than you'd ever think with some elbow grease.

I'd suspect the rims, bars, etc were probably painted black rather than chromed on a trade bike so I'd do likewise. If the rims and spokes are sound, I'd just paint them black.

ian c

That looks an interesting little project. With a bit of care it should all come apart nicely although doubtless you'll be buying penetrating oil by the gallon to get it apart without snapping any fasteners.

And if you don't fancy doing it, let me know - that would look lovely next to my Wearwell! :smile:

OP
OP
Tail End Charlie

Tail End Charlie

Well, write it down boy ......
Thanks everyone good to have encouragement. I'm not looking to make a profit but just wondering where to get cotter pins and similar from. That said I've been taking a few bits off it and been pleasantly surprised how easily they've come off.