PBP training

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Doo

Hi Forum Folks,

Thought I'd be brave and ask is anyone training for the PBP next year? What training does that involve? Done it before?

Horrors!

Doo :smile:

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
Well I am totally new to Audax rides and I am also quite new to cycling.

Once I get a bike :biggrin: I am going to start riding very gently and see how I go. If I like it I will increase my distances and see how I feel.

If I can do 100km without any problems then I will seriously start considering PBP for next year, bearing in mind I will have to complete all the qualifying distances as well.

My Baccchetta Giro 26 will arrive next week :thumbsup:

Steve

Ian H

Ancient randonneur
Ride regularly, get an early season 100k next year, work up to 200, 300, etc. Mix shorter rides in with the qualifiers. Try to build speed so that you can comfortably finish within time. Above all, don't panic.

steveindenmark

Legendary Member
I have recently joined Audax UK, even though I live in Denmark, I will also join the Danish Club.

The qualifying distances are: 200km, 300km, 400km and 600km. But not all Audax rides qualify for PBP so you need to check.

An experienced hand at PBP has advised me that the first thing you do is write a big 90 on your hand. This is how many hours you have to do.

At the end of it you need to say I finished the PBP. Nobody cares how long it took as long as you did it in the time. He told me at the start they set of quicker than the tour de France but he looks at his hand and it say 90. That is how long he has got, and that is how long he will take if he has to. The tortoise always catches the wannabee hares he says.

I have also been advised to plan more on comfort than speed because more drop out to discomfort than to not finishing in time. Obviously you do need to be aware of the speed.

I have a question about the longer rides where rest stops can be added.