Problems with cramp - Fixed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Oldfentiger

Veteran
Thought I'd share this, as someone may benefit from my experience.

I've been cycling more seriously for around 3 years, and seen my general fitness and health increase over that time. In July last year I did a charity ride in North Yorkshire so it was quite hilly.
Around 20 miles in I started to get twinges in my thighs, which developed into severe cramps on the next climb.
the rest of the 60 mile ride was miserable, with me trying to manage the problem and complete the course.
Subsequent rides last year saw the problem surface on every ride, sometimes starting as early as 12 miles.
It was always cramps in both abductors, with no other muscles affected.

Went to the doctor. He had my shoes and socks off and checked the pulse in my feet, and told my I have bounding pulses in both feet, which indicates good circulation apparently. He referred me to a consultant for a full vascular check.
Went to the consultant. He had my shoes and socks off and checked the pulse in my feet, and told my I have palpitating pulses in both feet, which indicates good circulation apparently. I told him that the doctor had already done this, but he told me that there's nothing wrong with me and discharged me.
Went back to the doctor, who apologised about the consultant, then ordered blood tests and an MRI scan on my pelvic and sacral regions.

Meanwhile:
Although I have been certain that my riding position has been correct, Mrs OFT persuaded me to get a proper bike fit done.
I made an appointment for a session with Chris at All Terrain Cycles in Saltaire.
He took some measurements with me pedalling the bike, and moved my saddle 0.5" down and 0.5" forward. This had the effect of increasing the bend at my knee from 30 to 35 degrees.
He charged me £30 for a saddle fit.

Each subsequent ride has seen a diminishing of the cramps.