Pro's and Con's - turbo or rollers ???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

peter_liver

As I'm new to cycling and getting more and more frustrated with the English weather I'm contemplating a trainer but know nothing about them . would much appreciate your advice.

Fubar

Guru
As I'm new to cycling and getting more and more frustrated with the English weather I'm contemplating a trainer but know nothing about them . would much appreciate your advice.

I would stick with a turbo unless you have really good balance - esp if new to cycling.

It also depends what you want to get out of it, just cycling on a turbo is boring and you are unlikely to improve - you can however use a turbo to suppliment your cycling but I would stick with max 1 hour at a time and try different routines (ie 1 minute warm up, 4 minutes at 100rpm, 1 minute cool down, repeat) - there should be plenty advice on the internet.

If you have access to a gym it may be better to try the static bikes first (or a spin class) before committing to a turbo, so it doesn't just become something you trip over! I tend to use mine during the dark winter months, I would rather be out cycling in the rain than stuck on the turbo - but they have their uses.

Good Luck!

What's stopping you cycling? Personally, I try to only let ice, gale, lightning and driving rain stop me. That means, down south, I can cycle most days of the year.

If you really find cycling outdoors a problem in July, then maybe cycling - or Liverpool - is/are not for you.

(if there have been ice storms in Liverpool, I apologise. And a turbo is definitely better for you)

Bollo

Failed Tech Bro
You either love or hate training aids. Personally I love them and they help fill gaps when time or location are constrained, or when you're coming back from injury :B)