Put wheels on myself?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

matc

Hello. New here, have just posted in the Welcome Mat thread.

As I said there, am being sent a Cannondale R800 bought off eBay, wheels in separate package. Being a total noob to road bikes (well, to taking off or putting on any sort of wheel, truth be told), would it be good practice for me to put them on myself, not knowing a thing about brakes, chain, gears and the like, or best to go to local LBS (lots of good ones here in Lucca, obviously, one I know pretty well) and get him to do it?

I'm probably over-analysing this and it's a piece-of-p*ss to do, but thought I'd ask as I cycle alone and have not got anyone here to ask who wouldn't likely snort at me. Thanks.

garrilla

Its a peice of p*ss.

Front wheel should very obvious, put QR leaver on left side. Sit inthe drop-outs and tighten.

Rear wheel, easy enough. Gently pull the rear mechanism backwards and insert wheel in front of it but above the chain. Then lift the wheel and pull back into place. Make sure it sits well in the drop-outs and tighten.

edit: by the way I'm assuming the wheels are Quick Rlease, if not (complain and) fasten the nuts instead

lordjenks

its no problem at all,
you will most likley have quick release skewers (little leavers) simply open these and unscrew a little, you will then need to open the brakes, normally a plastic leaver on the acutal brake mechinsm, this will widen the brakes to allow a fully pumped up tire through, once you have done this simply slide the wheel into the slots at the bottom of the forks, then screw up the quick release leavers and close them (just a little hit, make sure that the leavers are facing backwards so that they dont catch on anything whilst you are riding) then remeber to close the brakes again!