Questionnaire Regarding Bike Safety

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
OP
OP
P

Paddy Francis

Im currently studying product design at Salford University, and for my first assignment I have to create a product that will help with bicycle safety. This questionnaire is instrumental to my research and any responses would be greatly appreciated, thank you for your help.

wheres_my_beard

Über Member
Can you provide any info about the reasoning behind this questionnaire, like what it is going to be used for, and what any conclusions may inform?

Question 13 seems the most important.

It may also be worth asking people who drive or ride motorbike etc what problems they face when sharing the road with cyclists, especially in during poor weather, or with low light levels (dusk onwards)

Bicycle

Cycle Safety Questionnaire

I will answer as for the recent past, when I was a March-October cycle commuter. Non-commuting answers still apply.

1) Do you commute to work/university etc, using abicycle? If yes, what are your reasons for doing so?

Yes. It is more enjoyable than driving. There is a Draconian parking system at the office and I am 2 miles away with no public-transport link. I can eat more if I cycle. It wipes all my stress away. There are fabulous shower/changing facilities at the office and wardrobe space for clean clothes.

2) When commuting do you primarily use roads orpavements, and why is this?

Roads. Always roads. Only roads.

Pavements are (as I see it) for pedestrians.

3) Please select the duration (Underline) of hours it takes youto cycle to and from work/university/school etc in an average week. Put a ringaround the appropriate answer.

Less than one (4-6)

4) Do you ever cycle for recreational purposes? Ifso why?

Yes. Because I enjoy it and I have children who cycle. I live in a beautiful part of the country and I am happier when I ride frequently.