Questions for a Commuter

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

rachel lambert

Hi everyone!
I am a student at Loughborough University studying Industrial Design and Technology.
I am currently in the process of designing my final year product based on improving the communication between motorists and cyclists in built up areas, especially those who commute to work.

I was wondering if you were able to help me with the design process by answering a few questions I have?

1. How would you characterise your bicycling identity?
- Keen cyclist,
you take cycling more seriously than others.
- Practicality,
you cycle to get from one point to another.
- Leisurely,
an occasional bike ride out.
- None,
rarely/ never cycle.

2. In an average week, how often do you cycle?
- Less than one
- 1-5
-5-10
-Other (please state)

3. When cycling, how frequently do you signal to other motorists?
- Always
- Occasionally
- Rarely
- Never

4. When do you think a signal is most appropriate?
- Daytime/ Daylight
-4Night time/ Darkness
- Poor weather conditions-
rain, wet, snow, ice
- Cold
- Other (Please specify)

5. How do you typically signal/ indicate to other motorists to motorists and other road users that you intend to turn or move?
- Hand gestures
- Verbally
- Mixture of both
-I do not signal
- Other (Please specify)

6. During which circumstances on the road do you perceive a signal to be most necessary?
- When the bike is moving
- From a stopped position
- Both of the above

7. If a product was to be developed to improve the communication between motorists and cyclist, what facilities would you want it to include? (you can select one or more)
- Lighting to improve visibility and awareness
- Speed and Braking awareness
- Sound
- Indicating factor
- Other (please specify)

8. Where would you install such a product?
- On the body
- Attach to the bicycle
- No preference
- Other (please specify)