Raleigh Chiltern Ladies Bike - any good (see photos).

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rimmer

I have recently acquired this Raleigh Chiltern ladies bike - I paid £40 for it (probably the going rate as it's not a collectible I would imagine like a Holdsworth) - an impulse buy because it's in such good condition for the year - not mint, but good nonetheless ....

Can I have your assessment (I am a novice). I guess it would be interesting to know the value too (did I get a good deal?). Also looking at the valve type from the inner tube shown in the photo, my floor standing bike pump does not fit on it - can I find an adapter so it will work?

51524743268_b08767e792_c.jpg

51524513961_a7523cf6c8_c.jpg

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Nice buy for forty notes. Looks to be in very good condition. Late eighties. Seems almost unused. Great for use around town. Don’t worry about what people think, go ahead and use it. I should think you’d be able to sell it for at least twice as much.
Dont expect it to stop in the rain with what look like steel rims. That valve is a Woods type, you should be able to use a presta fitting to pump it, that’s what I use.

Last edited:

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Dont expect it to stop in the rain with what look like steel rims. That valve is a Woods type, you should be able to use a presta fitting to pump it, that’s what I use.
Fit Fibrax pads to it and it should stop in the rain, but it will never be quite as good as aluminium rims or a hub brake.