Re-fitting wheels correctly - How? (newbie)

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

DSK

I'm generally OK with DIY and tools but I have just got back into cycling and bought a used Trek road bike.

I bought it home, removed the quick release wheels so that I could give everything a thorough degrease, wash clean, wax and lube. When I refitted the quick release wheels, when rotating them, they were catching on the brake blocks.

I repeatedly refitted the wheels until they no longer caught on the brakes but. when I spin them now, they do not appear to be as true as what they were before I messed it all up. I cannot see what I am doing wrong.

So, whats the trick to getting quick release road bike wheels back on precisely?

Domus

Guru
I'm no expert but having the bike on the ground with the weight of the bike on the wheels helps. I sometimes need to release the quick release lever and push down on the bike to make sure.

ColinJ

Puzzle game procrastinator!
It might not be the wheel out of whack - you might have knocked the brake callipers out of position?

I accidentally did that before a long audax ride and exhausted myself with a brake dragging for the whole 200 kms... I didn't realise what I had done until I dismounted and tried to push the bike across a car park at the finish.

A friend did the same thing after removing wheels to transport his bike to a 100 mile sportive event - by the time we got to the check-in halfway round he was threequarters exhausted!

Do what Domus suggested, and then look at the gaps between brake blocks and either side of the rim. They should be equal. If they are not, then realign the callipers. I usually do that without the use of tools - it is usually possible to pull the callipers sideways one way or the other.

Smokin Joe

Legendary Member
It might not be the wheel out of whack - you might have knocked the brake callipers out of position?