Reducing front wheel weight

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.
Hi all,

Newbie here but quick question on wheel weights.

What will the difference be reducing the weight of the front wheel only by 500g rather than say 500g overall or just at the rear? I have a single speed with unconventional sizings so hard to replace the rear wheel but the front is straightforward. The weight of the bike is 9.5kg and the current wheels are 4kg (1.8kg at the front) which is fairly heavy. Given all the drive is from the rear wheel, will changing the front be noticeable? If replacing I would be getting a more aero front wheel as I guess that will help a bit as well when chugging along but more interested in what impact the reduction in weight will have.

Thanks all,

Tom

Justinslow

Lovely jubbly
Hi all,

What will the difference be reducing the weight of the front wheel only by 500g rather than say 500g overall or just at the rear? I have a single speed with unconventional sizings so hard to replace the rear wheel but the front is straightforward. The weight of the bike is 9.5kg and the current wheels are 4kg (1.8kg at the front) which is fairly heavy. Given all the drive is from the rear wheel, will changing the front be noticeable? If replacing I would be getting a more aero front wheel as I guess that will help a bit as well when chugging along but more interested in what impact the reduction in weight will have.

Thanks all,

Tom
Easier wheelies?

Quicker more flighty steering? A little bit quicker going up hills?
@Yellow Saddle may be able to help?

Last edited:

2IT

Everything and everyone suffers in comparisons.
Hi all,

Thanks all,

Tom
We can tell that you are already convincing yourself that you will notice the difference. Welcome to cycling.

Hi all,

Thanks all,

Tom