1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Road Bike Mirror

Discussion in 'Commuting' started by Smokin Joe, 1 Jul 2008.

1. Smokin Joe

Smokin Joe Legendary Member

2. numbnuts

numbnuts Guru

So were am I going to put my bar end shifters ???

3. fossyant

fossyant Ride It Like You Stole It!

Wrong, sooooo wrong !

4. Maz

Maz Guru

The angle of the mirror seems to be fixed relative to the drops, so I don't think it'll work for everyone.

5. Perry

Perry Senior Member

As a driver I'm not keen on bike mirrors.

Drivers feel more confident if a cyclist can see them. A quick turn of the head shows the rider is more confident and concerned about road safety.

If you use mirrors the drivers won't be sure if you have seen them.

6. magnatom

magnatom Guest

+1.

Also if you exclusively depend on a mirror you will have blind spots. I find turning my head and looking behind me works well! :smile:

7. John the Monkey

John the Monkey Frivolous Cyclist

8. Origamist

Origamist Guru

You can use a mirror and look behind you - the two are not mutually exclusive.

Most drivers are plenty "confident" enough already - sometimes a bit of uncertainty can work in your favour.

9. Crock of Gold

Crock of Gold Guest

How long before we get a live video feed from a rear-mount cycle camera played onto a little screen on the handlebars, showing everything that's going on behind with a mere glance.

Could even have a "virtual" helmet that can enclose the face. Inside the camera, there can be fed video cam from a 360 degree angle. With a software programme designed to identify hazards and flash a warning and taking control of the bike at crucial moments.

10. Mort

Mort Interstellar Overalls

Exactly. When I'm commuting I want as much visual feedback as I can get - meaning I use both mirrors and lifesavers before manoeuvering on the bicycle and on the motorcycle.