Road Bike with Shimano 105 for £800 and under?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Welshdan

Regular
Good day all.

I really hope the 'no question is a bad question' mantra applies here.

I'm an extreme noob. The last bike I rode was a Raleigh activator which compared to today's machines was like cycling a Mini Cooper. Now I've read various forums, and had convinced myself a hybrid was the way to go. However, several visits to LBS's have convinced me a road bike is what I should have. I have a few colleagues at work who cycle and 1 in particular is a regular 50-100 miler so I value his opinion. He is recommeding that shimano 105 are the best components and I should look for a bike with said components. My budget is £800 via cyclescheme. I've looked at Google but I'm just getting more confused. Is there a road bike with these components throughout or would they only be available at a higher budget.

Currently I've been looking at the Scott speedster S50 which has SRAM RED components.

Any comments greatly appreciated

SpokeyDokey

67, & my GP says I will officially be old at 70!
Good day all.

I'm an extreme noob. The last bike I rode was a Raleigh activator which compared to today's machines was like cycling a Mini Cooper. Now I've read various forums, and had convinced myself a hybrid was the way to go. However, several visits to LBS's have convinced me a road bike is what I should have. I have a few colleagues at work who cycle and 1 in particular is a regular 50-100 miler so I value his opinion. He is recommeding that shimano 105 are the best components and I should look for a bike with said components. My budget is £800 via cyclescheme. I've looked at Google but I'm just getting more confused. Is there a road bike with these components throughout or would they only be available at a higher budget.

Currently I've been looking at the Scott speedster S50 which has SRAM RED components.