saddle fitting/new saddle help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

tricky&thefox

I'm not sure if this is in the right place, if not sorry!

I've recently started cycling (the last 4 weeks) and although I'm really enjoying it I'm left unbearably sore for days after, and can still feel tender a week later.

I'm new to cycling really so have been trying to pick up as much useful info as i can. At the moment I'm riding once a week (I'm aiming for 3-4 times a week but the soreness is killing me) of around 10-15miles.

Today I've looked up seat bone pains and everything i can find suggests my saddle is too narrow. I've tried measuring my seat bones myself using the stairs and some foil, i get anything from 150mm to 180mm, my saddle is 140mm. I'm quite a big girl at size 16 if that makes a difference.

Do places like halfords do saddle fitting? I'm not overly familiar with all the bike shops in my area so if they do it would be much easier.

Hoping someone can give some advice as this is really ruining it for me. Thanks for reading sorry for the long post!

- The Fox

obvious question - as a girl, for starters presumably you do already have a female-specific saddle..??

OP
OP
tricky&thefox

tricky&thefox

As far as i know it's not a women's saddle as it was bought from a guy. Im enough of a newbie to not have a clue on how to tell if it is a women's saddle or not...oh the shame!

MattHB

Proud Daddy
are you all wearing padded shorts? if not get some! (and not the cheap rubbish from sports direct).

you will adapt in the end though. Its about the pressure on the soft tissues around the sit bones. Too soft a saddle will make this much worse, so go as hard as you can, combined with a good pair of shorts with a decent pad to protect the sit bones pressure points.