Saddle Sore

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

pubrunner

Legendary Member
I do very little cycling and I've entered (in a fit of enthusiasm) the Cheshire Cat which is about 5 weeks off.

I went out today and clocked 45 miles - which is pretty good for me. However, after about an hour, my Brooks Colt saddle started to feel uncomfortable. Should I continue to use it in the weeks before the CC, or should I change it ? Is there any saddle which is guaranteed to be comfortable from the start ? (for around 8 hours !)

It could be that I felt sore, just because I'm not used to sitting in (any) saddle for any length of time. The Brooks saddle is not new, but I've only used it wearing padded shorts; would it mould better to my shape if I used it wearing unpadded shorts ?

I'm uncertain about what to do, I've never done a 100 miler before and I don't want the saddle to be an issue on the CC.

I'd be pleased to receive any advice/ideas. Thank you !

By the way, I wore my Cyclechat gear today and it is excellent; a couple of 'proper' local cyclists actually waved at me - presumably because I'm beginning to look the part (just need to lose a stone or two):smile:.

aqaleigh

its a case of trial and error

brooks always seem to need breaking in

could be the wrong shape or size for you & it depends where you are hurting - if it is in the buttock region you'll probably find it goes over time - if however its more to the front or on the upper legs where they join the buttock then try moving your seat back a little at a time

gwhite

Über Member
The Brooks colt if I remember correctly, uses leather that is much thicker than the B17 Champion or even the Team Pro. This means that it is more difficult to "break-in" as to create the depressions in the correct place your sit-bones have to press down and actually break the leather fibres which can be a painful and protracted process if achieved at all.