Secondhand carbon frames - ?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

simongt

Guru
Okay, we're talking reported from Ther Sun here, but they're claiming that it pays to be very careful buying a used carbon bike as apparently, it's very difficult to detect possible damage to the frame - until it fails with you on it. Not so much so with metal frames as it's easier to spot potential problems with suspect frames; weld cracks, dints on the frame etc.. Depends very much on the quality of the build of the carbon, as not all carbon frames are equal.
Observations please - ! :whistle:

vickster

Legendary Member
Maybe have a read of this recent discussion which discussed the merits or not of carbon
https://www.cyclechat.net/threads/insanely-expensive-bikes.282388/

figbat

Slippery scientist
I have three carbon-fibre bikes, all bought second-hand. I’m no structural engineer but approached with common sense - a good look over, consider the overall condition of the frame and components, and a good tapping of all the tubes and joints to listen for possible changes. So far I have got away with it. At least you know it isn’t rusting or corroding from the inside out, which a metal frame could be.

Okay, we're talking reported from Ther Sun here, but they're claiming that it pays to be very careful buying a used carbon bike as apparently, it's very difficult to detect possible damage to the frame - until it fails with you on it. Not so much so with metal frames as it's easier to spot potential problems with suspect frames; weld cracks, dints on the frame etc.. Depends very much on the quality of the build of the carbon, as not all carbon frames are equal.
Observations please - ! :whistle:
Despite being reported by the Sun, this is an unfortunate attribute of carbon frames relative to other frames.