Shimano to SRAM

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Newgirl1426

Regular
Sorry for the noob question but what is the basics of changing to SRAM? I got a Vilano Shadow that has STI shifters but the rest is probably the cheapest of Shimano parts. My boyfriend just got me an Avail 2 with Teagra so this would be a second bike. I have seen Sora groupsets for around 350 but would like to try the SRAM probably the Rival set. Total beginner at this so any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.http://www.vilanobikes.com/vilano-shadow-21sp-shimano-road-bike.html

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire
You will need new shifters and mechs. The Vilano is unlikely to be more than an 8 or 9 speed cassette so you will probably need a new cassette and chain. You may need new cables and worst case scenario if you go with 11 speed Sram you may need a new rear wheel or freehub if the Vilano wheel does not accept an 11 speed cassette. I suspect you wouldn't see much change out of £400 to £500 to get it shod with Sram Rival
Don't take this the wrong way though, but I wouldn't bother. The bike will be perfectly functional as is. If you want a Sram bike keep an eye open on Planet X they have some deals that are cheaper than buying the equivalent components and putting together yourself.

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
You will need new shifters and mechs. The Vilano is unlikely to be more than an 8 or 9 speed cassette so you will probably need a new cassette and chain. You may need new cables and worst case scenario if you go with 11 speed Sram you may need a new rear wheel or freehub if the Vilano wheel does not accept an 11 speed cassette. I suspect you wouldn't see much change out of £400 to £500 to get it shod with Sram Rival