Shoes and Pedals

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

fraz101

hi guys

I’m fairly new to road cycling and thus far I haven’t bothered with clip on pedals and shoes. I tend to just wear trainers.

I know very little about it all and having had a look it looks like a minefield of different options with shoes,cleats and pedal types.

Obviously I have a few questions regarding it all, so I’ll start.

Why do the shoes have plastic studs etc to the rear and front of the shoes if they clip onto the pedals? Does that not make it difficult to walk on if you want to get off the bike for sometime?

Also it appears there are various types of system, SPD,Keo etc,what are the main differences and what would suit a beginner best?

Are there any recommendations for pedals,shoes cleats for someone in my position?

The only positive I can see is it will stop my foot slipping off the pedal on the very rare occasion this happens? It certainly doesn’t appear like the shoes are designed for walking on?

Thanks in advance

Teamfixed

Tim Lewis
Hi
For sure many cycling shoes are not designed to walk in..... just as trainers are not designed to cycle in. The cushioning in trainers is exactly what you want for running but that layer of foam between you and the bike is counterproductive and makes you inefficient when it comes to power transfer. Cleats are also safer.
I would wholeheartedly recommend clipless pedals and shoes (the term clipless derives from the fact that they are devoid of clips, the old style toe clips that is)
By far the best/easiest set up would be SPD pedals and cleats....go for the double sided pedals. The great thing about these is that you can get shoes that have the cleat recessed into the sole making walking in them easy. You can take it a stage further and find relatively flexible SPD shoes that are very easy to walk in but still retain enough stiffness for cycling.