Should i attempt to fix this myself?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

jahlive905

So last week this happened:

I'm in no major rush to fix it and want to learn more about how to look after my bike anyway. I'm still new to cycling and bikes. I can change an inner, brake pads and the brake cable but that's about it. So my question is, using youtube and internet resources, is it safe for me as a relative newbie to fit a new derailleur in your opinion?

jonny jeez

Legendary Member
I always like the challange of giving it a go myself, plus I really enjoy finding out more and more about my bike and how she runs.

Give it a go, you can't make it any worse.

Not much anyhow.

You can however:

You'll need to order a new gear hanger, I presume the one on the bike has snapped.

Check the wheel or any damaged spokes where the mech came into contact.

You'll also need some tools namely a chain tool, pliers, wire cutters, and a 5mm allen key. But a rear mech being changed can be done quite easily. I'd be more worried about the potential damage this one has done going into the wheel like that.

Smurfy

Naturist Smurf
It doesn't look like a huge job, but I can't really see from the picture how the frame and mech parted company. Is the dropout snapped?

Take your time and there will be plenty on here to help.

Tim Hall

It doesn't look like a huge job, but I can't really see from the picture how the frame and mech parted company. Is the dropout snapped?

Take your time and there will be plenty on here to help.
Looks like a bolt on hanger which has snapped to save the frame. @jahlive905 If you got the bike from Evans there might/should be a spare hanger in the green info book they gave you. Otherwise order a new one from your LBS. You won't necessarily need a chain tool, if the existing one has a quick link in it and isn't damaged.

PatrickPending

Legendary Member