Skinsuits?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Enis Baysal

Haiii guys.
I have been looking around online for skinsuits and 1 the market is huge and 2 *my main question* prices...
I have seen some as cheap as £50, others for 400+.... I am still a novice biker, however serious about training to do longer and longer distance. Ultimately are there good and bad purchases to be made?
To an uneducated mind like myself I see them all as the same? Light, thin etc?
Any pointers on budget but decent brands (if possible) would be appreciated :smile:!
Thank you

screenman

Legendary Member
Impsport and made to your size which is very important.

http://www.impsport.com/category/cycling-skinsuits

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
Forget skinsuits for anything other than time trials. Really. They are all thin lycra, and going to the loo is tricky.

They are for racing. Go for bib shorts and jersey.

screenman

Legendary Member
Forget skinsuits for anything other than time trials. Really. They are all thin lycra, and going to the loo is tricky.

No problem going to the loo, the zip comes down far enough for me anyway.

I must admit though I do have a few skin suits it is as you suggest bibs and tops, mainly for the pockets.

briantrumpet

Legendary Member

Yes, indeed. And of course they are cut for a TT position, so unless you're planning on riding for hours right down on the drops, they won't be an ideal fit. Plus, of course, you'll be throwing the whole thing away when the bottom half wears out.

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
More and more road racers are choosing skin suits, as such manufacturers are jumping on the band wagon and offering ones which are suitable for road riding I.e. with pockets and easier toilet stops.

However, the benefit of a skinsuit unless you are a racer is pretty much non-existant.

Hacienda71

Mancunian in self imposed exile in leafy Cheshire