So what time goal do i set myslef for Manchester to Blackpool 2013?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Shanksy

Hi all

I am just looking for a bit of advice if anybody can...

At the beginning of this year I was a heavy overweight lazy sod TBH. I weighed in at 17st 10lbs albeit I am a very large build and have done lots of weightlifting on and off over the past 20years (38yr old now).

I decided I should get fit this year and loose the fat for a change and so:-

I started riding in March this year with a newly bought road bike, initially my intention was to be able to make it on the Manchester to Blackpool ride this July. I actually managed that ride 3 weeks after getting my bike so I know I can make the distance now (took me about 4:15).

My question is and I realize it may be awkward/impossible to answer accurately...

What time do I set myself for the Manchester to Blackpool ride this coming July? I want to set a goal that is hard but achievable...just!

I have a cousin that did it in 3.5hrs though that was riding in a peloton and he is a triathlete of several years so I am guessing he is fairly fit. I'd really love to think I could get close to that time but I really don't know if that is simply dreaming. My weight has dropped to nearly 17stone since I have been riding so that can only help.

I have included my training records below to give you an idea of my level, nearly all of my training is done around Littleborough/Bacup/Burnley and therefore we are always going over hills which makes it difficult to judge how I would fair on a flatter run which I believe M to B is.

From now to the ride I intend to up my training, I should have time for
25 miles every morning - early
25-30 miles 2/3 times during the week in the evening
1 ride either sat or sun up to 4hrs