Some novice questions on servicing my bike

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

dac

Hi,
I have a Marin Lucas Valley. The below link shows the spec of the bike:
http://www.ykkbikes.com/content/2012-marin-lucas-valley

It's in desperate need of a clean and, no doubt, service. As a novice, I have some questions.

Question 1 - Cleaning
The cassette and chainring are full of grime. What I have done is sprayed loads of WD40 on them, with a layer of Fairy washing up liquid, then some more WD40. I will let that settle for a couple of days before I get round to washing it off. I have since read washing up liquid contains salt which isn't ideal, a bit late now. I intend to wash the whole bike with warm soapy water and then dry it thoroughly with a cloth. I will use a toothbrush around the cassette and chainring.
--Is the washing up liquid I've applied likely cause damage if washed fully off, followed by a good dose of lubricant spray?

Question 2 - Lubricant
I have use in the past GT85 with some Finish Line Wet Oil. I found the wet oil really attracts dirt.
--Is it just fine to use a healthy dose of GT85 all over (cassette, chainring, brake cables, etc..)?

Question 3 - Inner Tube
As you can see from the spec, the bike has Alex DC19 rims. They have Presta valves currently.
--Can I use Schrader valves with these rims or do I have to stick with Presta?
The tyres on the bike are 700c by 28mm.
--What size inner tube is suitable for this tyre (i.e. 700c by 20mm-25mm, or 700c by 28mm-32mm)?
--What length of value is suitable for the rim (42mm, 60mm, 80mm)? I think 42mm are on there currently. --Any benefit with going for longer valves?

Question 4 - Tyre
The tyres on the bike are 700c by 28mm.
--Does anyone know the largest (width) tyre I can use on this bike (for example, will it take 700c by 32mm)?

Question 5 - Chainring