something to prove....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

EITC

i sincearly hope i dont offend anybody with this post, but just lately i seem to keep coming across guys on fixed speed bikes with something to prove..... I've been commuting from Romford to Islington for a couple of years now...first on my mountain bike and then on my genesis hybrid... i have no interest in racing other cyclists....i do the same ride every day...same speed (wind/traffic depending). over the last few months i keep coming across guys on fixed speeds determined to race me and prove a point, the storm off from the lights, keep looking back to see if im chasing (invariably not) and yesterday i even had a guy peddle his nuts off, then look round and wave me to catch up?!!! seriously... whats with this attitude? a good mate of mine rides a fixed wheel bike, with no such attitude.... i really dont get it????

zimzum42

Legendary Member
No offence taken!

Some people just do this, fixed or not!

Joe24

More serious cyclist than Bonj
Yes, they do it wrong, your ment to look like your not trying;)
I do have joy with passing geared bikes on my fixed, especially up hills when they have said"Oh, i'll tell you what its like to change gear when you go up a hill":biggrin:

Greenbank

Über Member
I often do a kind of interval training on my commute (on fixed):-

Sprint away from lights at 90% effort for 60 seconds.
Cruise at 60% effort for 2 minutes or until next lights.
Sprint at 90% effort for 60 seconds.

This averages out being slower than my normal commute speed and so I often get sarky comments from other riders overtaking, i.e. "Heh, you blew up pretty quickly.", "Can't hold it for long eh?", etc.

But I never try and race anyone. The closest I get is wheelsucking RLJers and then refusing to take a turn on the front. xx(

OP
OP
E

EITC