Sore skin

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

spuggy

I’m very new to cycling, I got my bike about 6 weeks ago and I love it but the skin that’s in contact with the bike saddle is not coping well! I get lots of red hard lumps that are sore and almost itchy every time I ride at the very top of my inner thigh where the saddle is. I’ve changed my saddle to a mimic bridge which I’ve had for 4 weeks on a trial so I’m going to swap that to a mimic comp which has a shorter nose. I’ve bought shorts/bibs with chammys and yep I’m wearing them knickerless and I’ve got chammy cream. Nothing seems to make it any better. Riding 10km has the same effect as riding 60km.
Do I just need to keep going and wait for things to toughen up? Or is there something else I can try? Someone who’s had the same please tell me it goes away 😂

OldShep

Über Member
skin that’s in contact with the bike saddle is not coping well! I get lots of red hard lumps that are sore and almost itchy every time I ride at the very top of my inner thigh where the saddle is

That shouldn’t be in contact. Sounds as if you’re rubbing the nose of the saddle. Is your saddle too wide or maybe the padding in your shorts is too thick? I’ve known a little contouring on the saddle cove can also cause a problem.
My first action would be to ditch the shorts and wear a high leg cotton underwear you should be able to ride 60k without padding.

vickster

Legendary Member
Do you do any shaving/waxing down there? If so, that could well be making things worse, a slight trim should be ok, but for females especially it has been shown that hairless is worse.

I find this stuff used after showering post cycle helps heal sore skin. https://www.assos.com/int/skin-repair-gel-tube-75-ml-p13-90-910-99.html

Your tights should be very snug so no movement

Yours sounds quite severe and may need medical attention and rest from the saddle to heal.

You might want to consider a bike/saddle fit.