Standard pedals orClipless???

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Blue Scouser85

Hello All!

I'm relatively new to MTB'ing and have only been out properly once, up in the peaks! Whilst I was out I did have to put my feet down a fair bit and also had to get off the bike in one section to walk down, but to be fair so did one of the lads who has been doing this for a while, rock was too steep and too wet, the guy who went down took a nice tumble off the edge, lucky for him a gorse bush saved him and his bike haha

Sorry to stray off, yeah if I wear clipless will that mean more falls with the bike on top of me, or will if force me to get better and just cycle on? I have used clipless on the road and they do generate more power and I find them more comfortable for feet position, just concerned that out on the hills I might bite off more than I can chew with them?

Cubist

Still wavin'
There are advantages to clipless pedals while off roading. I ride clipless and have done more or less since I started. The trick is to be able to unclip subconsciously, so that being attached to the bike doesn't become a disadvantage. Hops, step ups, step downs, ruts, steep downhills all are better (for me) if I'm clipped in, and not likely to slip off the pedals.

Give it a go, and see whether you like it. For some the worry of clipless moments puts them off riding technical features, and so it's best to develop an amount of confidence before you do.

GrasB

Veteran
There's no reason not to especially if you've developed a really good pedal motion (I had no end of foot slips with flat pedals as I almost completely unload the pedal on the upstroke). With SPDs I find I can lift the bike with my feet which has allowed me to get out of ruts sideways & lift the back wheel up to very precisely place it where I wanted.

As Cubist said it's a case of suck it & see. One thing to keep in mind is don't try using road cleats on your MTB for testing out.