Steepest road routes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rob3rt

Man or Moose!
I was just reading an entry about Toys Hill on this forum which started me thinking, what are the 5 steepest road routes in England, Scotland and Wales. I am guessing Hardknott Pass is the steepest for England. Hardknott Pass I am new to biking and I only just managed this one the other day. Moor Road to Rivington. If people could list what they think are the steepest with a Google map link that would be great. It can set me a challenge to complete over the next five years.

Can you plot the actual climb on Moor Road? Finding it hard to picture it from your link.

That's not far from me I heard of a climb near Anglezarke must be that one (~750ft?). I go through Rivvy park to Belmont regularly, its a nice steady climb with a good descent afterwards.

Yesterday I climbed The Rake (bottom of carr street to top of chapel lane) which is about 25%, quite tough.

I am not sure what the OP is actually referring too as there is no actual route plotted on that Google link. However, there is a climb on Moor Road as you turn away from Anglezarke, it kicks up to about 15-16% at the foot and drags on for maybe 1-2 mins, then there is a layby to your left and the road levels out and drags on up to a cross roads. I've done it a few times, I usually ride round in circles at the layby waiting for my girlfriend to get up the 1st steep bit. Never gone up the climb full tilt.

http://www.strava.com/segments/3020235?filter=overall

I am guessing the other climb you are referring to is Sheep House Ln/Rivington Road? That is a good climb but very exposed on the top section near the pike!