Steepest road routes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

lpjr

I was just reading an entry about Toys Hill on this forum which started me thinking, what are the 5 steepest road routes in England, Scotland and Wales. I am guessing Hardknott Pass is the steepest for England. Hardknott Pass I am new to biking and I only just managed this one the other day. Moor Road to Rivington. If people could list what they think are the steepest with a Google map link that would be great. It can set me a challenge to complete over the next five years.

theloafer

Legendary Member
applecross and cape wrath 108.jpg
applecross and cape wrath 112.jpg
applecross and cape wrath 113.jpg
applecross and cape wrath 115.jpg
applecross and cape wrath 117.jpg

we did applecross in 2006 a great climb

Mad Doug Biker

Just a damaged guy.
This is one of my local hills which I sometimes try - it rises over 500 feet in just over a mile. If you look at the gradient profile (Click on 'SHOW' at the top), the worst side is from Renton (and boy is it STEEP!), so if you try it from there, GOOD LUCK!!:

http://www.bikely.co...ath/Carman-Hill

The views are good from the top and what's more, it turns off from the road out to Loch Lomond at Renton and also is just a short hop from the Cycle Track at Renton.

At the other side in Cardross, with the River Clyde right in front of you, turn left and you'll go back to Dumbarton, from where you can go back to Renton (and the hill), (or continue on towards Glasgow following the Clyde), or turn right and end up in Helensburgh and the way up to Loch Long and the Highlands, et al (as you also will on the Loch Lomond side).

With all the surrrounding roads and routes, the hill can be used as part of a big circular route, and best of all, there is a train station on both sides (Renton and Cardross), so if you over exert yourself, don't worry!!

As a hill, I can see it's potential for training coming in quite handy for me! :becool:

Banjo