Sub £100 bike????

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

2tyres

Hi,

I am completly new to this. I havent actually riden a bike for about 8 years and never riden a bike on the road (I was young enough to go out with my parents and only ride a bike in the park last time).

I am a student in Bath and have decided to take my bike instead of my car everyday as it is only a 3 mile (1 way) journy and todays petrol prices it makes sence to cycle....

Okay so this is the situation....Bath has a few hills I will need to go up (particulary going to uni) and I am looking to spend about £100 if possible. I have found a few bikes on the woolworths and halfords websites for £80.

Does anyone have any advice on what type of bike I should get and is it possible to get one for under £100? What should I look for?

Thanks for all the advice

At this kind of money avoid suspension and if you can possibly stretch to another £49 i'd reccomend the Mongoose Crossway , down from £199 to £149 and all sizes are still available ... our local Police Community Support Officers ride these and they love em

Simon

RedBike

Avoid suspension, disc brakes and any other 'cosmetic' feature designed to tart the bike up.

Unless you're confident building and maintaining a bike I would avoid Woolworths and any other catalogue / none bike retailer. You would be MUCH better off paying a little bit more and getting a bike from a reputable bike shop (and I don't mean Halfords).

On such a tight budget I would probably go for an old road bike.

HJ

Cycling in Scotland
With that budget I would recommend looking round for something second hand, new bikes at that price are going to be crap and cost more in the long run. Go round a few LBSs and ask if they know where you can get a good second had bike, you might get luck and find an ex-rental bike that has hardly been used. Old roads bike offer the best value as they not so fashionable.

Fab Foodie

hanging-on in quiet desperation ...