Sub £500 folder

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rusty Rocket

Hi all, new to the folding bike game and was looking for some advice please.

I’ve got up to £500 to spend on a folder, which I’m going to use for short rides from home (no space for a full size bike, I’ve tried and failed!), so it doesn’t need to be the most compact, just smaller than a standard bike, so ideally 20” wheels.

I’m looking for new rather than used as I’m no expert so going for the easy option in terms of maintenance.

I’ve whittled it down to 2: Carerra Intercity and Raleigh Stowaway 2021
https://www.halfords.com/bikes/folding-bikes/carrera-intercity-folding-bike---grey-361318.html

https://www.evanscycles.com/brand/raleigh/stowaway-2021-folding-bike-934180

Any preferences over one or the other? Anything else I should consider?
Thanks in advance

TheDoctor

Europe Endless
Superficially, they appear to be very similar. Left to my own devices, I'd go for the Carrera as it's got a freehub rear wheel rather than a freewheel, and is a good bit cheaper. I suspect it's last years model, as I notice from the Halfords site it's not available for home delivery.
I'd have a look at the Decathlon range too, if you're anywhere near a Decathlon. HTH.

OP
OP
R

Rusty Rocket

That’s really interesting, thanks.

Halfords are due more stock in February so would appear to still be current stock, although well spotted on the rearhub difference.

Interestingly I had seen the Decathlon range, but looking back I’m not sure why I discounted it. Will add it back into the mix.

SkipdiverJohn

Deplorable Brexiteer
If I was buying new I would probably get a 20" wheel folder from Decathlon, as they are very good value in general for bikes and they don't sell outright junk.