Suggested winter lubricant

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

wbmkk

Veteran
Hello

I've been riding again for a few months now after several years of non-activity on the cycling front.

I note that my chain (on an old Raleigh Equippe) is looking pretty rusty, as well as getting noisy

I suppose that's no surprise as I washed the bike and never put on any lubricant, when I dug it out of the shed in September.

What are the best lubrication options for protection of the chain, gears etc.

Previously and as a kid, I used to use whatever dad had in his is little red oil can to oil my bikes, but of course, that red can has now vanished.

There are probably better options too

Regards ! and Happy Christmas to all !!:eek:

snorri

Legendary Member
Washing the chain and not lubing afterwards, it sounds as if you don't worry too much.:ohmy:
Any cheap oil will be better than your present maintenance regime, It's a waste of money putting on expensive oils for general use, IMO.:eek:

rusky

CC Addict
I would first replace the chain. Use something like Finish Line wet lube & apply using the Mickle Method;)

OP
OP
wbmkk

wbmkk

Veteran
Thanks for that Snorri

It's not really that I don't care

My wife and I care for my elderly father who has Alzheimer's so time is always a premium.

I was actually going to buy a new bike a few months ago, so just got the old bioke out as a very short term measure.

Unfortunately, at the start of September I lost my job and company car meaning the new bike idea had to be put on hold. Th bike became my only form of commuting, but of course during the dry weather I never really noticed any problems. My mind is obviously on other matters.

The bike was a good bike in it's day and I really want to do it properly.

Regards !

snorri

Legendary Member
That puts a different light on things wbmkk.