Suitable beginner route between Clapham Junction and Surbiton

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

anmonari

Hi All,

I'm new to cycling in South London currently only Cycle between Lambeth and Clapham Junction. As I work in Woking I'm thinking of cycling to Surbiton from Clapham Junction. Any suggestions regarding the best route

I use Strava at the moment and is quite useful for my above mentioned short journey.

I'm cautious of using Google Maps as it necessarily doesn't give the safest and most efficient cycle route.

Thanks,
Alex.

Last edited:

vickster

Legendary Member

OP
OP
A

anmonari

Thanks HLaB. I'll look at using CycleStreet.

Does anyone know any other tools or common routes?

Thanks.

vickster

Legendary Member
How long will you have? Wanting leisurely away from roads or fast as possible? What about hills?

Last edited:

Dommo

Veteran
I used to do Borough to New Malden, so Surbiton's not too far beyond that. I took CS7 all the way to Collier's Wood and then Kingston Road past Raynes Park and alongside the A3 to New Malden. I'd say it's pretty much the quickest route, but not particularly pleasant. I can see nicer routes for that distance taking rather a while though...

Dommo

Veteran
That said, I used to divert and cut through Richmond Park some days and on misty winter mornings with the deer ghosting in and out of view it was quite magical.. so it wasn't all bad :smile:

vickster

Legendary Member
For most pleasant (but slow) I'd assume some sort of combo of the Wandle Trail (as far as Wimbledon), then Route 75 from near Raynes Park to Surbiton

It's going to take you an hour minimum in term time, maybe a little less in summer even the quickest way (straight down the A3 pretty much!!)

Simontm

Veteran
IMG_0361.jpg
Another route is to head for Wandsworth
IMG_0362.jpg