Suitable tyres

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

AckaDappa

Hi. Looking to go and get some tyres today for my Giant Toughroad SLR2.
I want to buy two sets...

1. Road only journeys for fitness and solo leisure rides.

2. Journeys with my other half which will include gravel tracks and grass etc..

Can anybody recommend suitable tyres please. Don't want to go and get sets that are either low quality or not fit for purpose..
I have a halfords (cycling department not good) and a decathlon fairly close.
But guessing internet is the way to go.
Also should I upgrade the standard inner tubes that come with the bike?

I'm a newbie to cycling and the bike is being delivered this week.. Hopefully..

Thank in advance!
Dan.

Spiderweb

Not So Special One
For gravel tracks etc. I would stick with your existing tyres/inner tubes until they need replacing then ask the same question again.
For road I would get a pair of Continental Gatorskins, probably 700x28c as you have plenty of clearance. In my experience they have been brilliant, great puncture resistance and longevity 5500+ miles. You will need smaller diameter inner tubes for your new road tyres.
http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/continental-gatorskin-rigid-tyre-twinpack/
They sell them at Halfords too. BC members get 10% discount.

OP
OP
AckaDappa

AckaDappa

For gravel tracks etc. I would stick with your existing tyres/inner tubes until they need replacing then ask the same question again.
For road I would get a pair of Continental Gatorskins, probably 700x28c as you have plenty of clearance. In my experience they have been brilliant, great puncture resistance and longevity 5500+ miles. You will need smaller diameter inner tubes for your new road tyres.
http://www.ribblecycles.co.uk/continental-gatorskin-rigid-tyre-twinpack/
They sell them at Halfords too. BC members get 10% discount.

Ah thanks. Wi'll stick with current tyres for rides with the missus and look into these for my road journeys.