Suspension Advice....

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Elvistheblue

Hello,

Beginner here, so please be gentle.

I've got a new TREK Marlin 6, 2019. I was playing about with the front suspension, and don't get how they actually work?? I know there is a lock feature, which is fine. They lock, and unlock.

However, If I turn the other key anti clockwise (- direction) it comes to a point where it won't turn anymore, but if I go clockwise (+ direction) the key seems to go on forever, and doesn't come to a natural stop. I also don't seem to notice any change in the suspension pressure. Should I? Is it a case of them being either on or off. Any advice on how they should work would be great.

Thanks in advance.

Cycleops

Legendary Member
Not familiar with the particular suspension fork on your Trek, maybe someone else is and can give some better info. The lock out prevents the suspension operating and locks it solid. Check in which position it does this by holding the front brake on and pumping the forks. The idea being your energy is not wasted energy through the suspension when honking along on the flat.

Drago

Legendary Member
Did the bike come with a handbook?

That model comes with the Sram/RockShox XC30, which has a crude lockput and preload adjustment. Set the preload so the sag is about 1/3 Of the suspension travel when you're seated aboard the bike.

OP
OP
E

Elvistheblue

Thanks for the replies. I'll have a look on the SRAM website, and see what I can get from that . I didn't get a manual with the bike.....whether I should or not....not sure.

OP
OP
E

Elvistheblue

Did the bike come with a handbook?

That model comes with the Sram/RockShox XC30, which has a crude lockput and preload adjustment. Set the preload so the sag is about 1/3 Of the suspension travel when you're seated aboard the bike.

When you say 'crude', do you mean oil, or do you mean basic/simple??

Threevok

Growing old disgracefully