Taking Folders on Buses

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Banjo

Fuelled with Jelly Babies
I am planning to do a regular journey using Cardiff local Bus service and my Folder.
Bus company website says folders are ok provided securely folded but it also confuses the issue a bit going on about drivers discretion or some such.

My plan is just to do it and see how it goes .Anyone else take their folders on buses?
bike is a Dahon 20 inch wheels

sheddy

Legendary Member
If you can bag it they won't notice.
A cheap plastic jumbo laundry bay might work, get the biggest.

Julia9054

Guru
How do people carry their folder without their leg getting covered in bruises? I am small and clearly not that strong. I am also fairly new to the folding bikes club. I find my Brompton bangs on my leg if i have to carry it any distance

mjr

Comfy armchair to one person & a plank to the next
Theoretically they're allowed on all major UK operators (ones that are part of some association). In practice, bags may be required.

The bit about driver discretion is in case the bus is too full, I think. Drivers are pretty much god in operational decisions anyway, including refusing/allowing more people to board. You can challenge it afterwards if needed, for all that helps.

annedonnelly

Girl from the North Country
I've taken my Brompton on a bus often. It's usually a bit of a giveaway when I fold it at the door of the bus & am still wearing my helmet when I get on :smile: Never had a problem but it's usually been in the evening when the buses are quiet and the trains don't run. I put the bike in the space for wheelchair or pushchair but am prepared to move it if anyone needs the space.

Kell

Veteran
I put it in the luggage rack on long distance buses or walk to the wide bit on others. Never needed to use the wheelchair space. I think pushchairs are meant to be folded before boarding anyway.