The modern driving test.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Drago

Legendary Member
However it is quite easy for an inexperienced and / or foolish person to lose control of a high powered vehicle (rear wheel drive especially) at a modest speed just by booting it.

I have witnessed a Morgan driven at a sub-30mph town-appropriate speed spinning the rear wheels on a wet road and going up the pavement arse first. I don't known if he was showing off or if he just slightly overdid it in an unforgiving car, as he was pootling along quite sensibly up to that point. There are a plethora of videos of people clearly showing off but at modest speeds spinning Ferraris / Lambos and various muscle cars.
Thwt is true, but that's an issue of driver behaviour or lack of ability rather than an inherent problem with the bikes themselves. I'm no Barry Sheene - in fact I'm a crap bike rider, I'm a far better car driver having been trained to it but dislike driving with a passion - but I've not done the same on my V-Max because I very quickly figured out that strange things happen if you mistreat the twist grip in much the same way its better to stroke a rottweiler imstead of kicking it.

I've also had the misfortune have to ride a CG125 back from Leeds and quickly discovered nothing happens when you yank on the throttle, haul on the brakes or try to take a corner in the wet while remaining at the same speed as the traffic flow, leaving the rider at the mercy of other road users. I'd sooner have the tools and use them wisely, than not have them when I need them to rescue me from Mr Reaper. Anyone stupid enough to spin out a powerful vehicle will likely be inclined to do something stupid in a Fiesta, the inadvised overtake that takes half an hour to execute being the favourite.