Tips

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

deanE

An interesting collection of posts. I worked in the waste management industry, as operator and regulator, most of my working life, and still interested in folks thoughts on recycling etc. One thing I would say is be wary of the statistics issued by local Councils. I doubt that they are as impressive as they sound. "We recycle 80%" might well mean that they limit what they accept at that site to only what they can recycle.

I pedalled my bakfiets + trailer into the York facility and no one batted an eyelid - bringing two tons of tetrapacs which York does recycle but does not collect.

summerdays

Cycling in the sun
York at 75% does well.

Everyone else is a lazy tard and needs a kick up the twice monthly.
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/pol...ause-councils-abandon-weekly-collections.html
Had a look at some of the comments underneath. Whilst I don't know the truth about some of the comments I can't believe one near the top which claimed that because of bi-weekly collections that he now needed to go to the tip once a fortnight as well!!! I think I've been to the tip once in the past year and that was to get rid of stuff that could be recycled better that way. And my bin isn't full either, even in this Christmas week with a family of 5. The only thing that was over flowing was the cardboard recycling.

I'm quite happy with bi-weekly collections (non-food - that is weekly) - my main problem is remembering which bins they are collecting on any particular week - I now have a reminder set up on my phone so I don't have to go out and check which bins the neighbours have put out!

OP
OP
Arch

Arch

Married to Night Train