Tour de France in the classroom?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

nigelnorris

I'm a maths teacher, recently enthused about cycling beyond my commute, and it's just occured to me that the TdF contains sooooo much footage that I could use in lessons that it's going to be too good an opportunity to miss.

Everything from basic stuff like ratio (gears, climbs), probability (odds etc), measures (miles/km, map scales), plus whatever I can come up with in the next couple of weeks. Exotic locations, race excitement, even for my jaded lot there must be tons of fun to be had.

It's the end of term and I'm pretty much unconstricted by government imposed schemes of work etc, so anything goes.

I have fully interactive IT facilities at my disposal, any kind of multimedia we can think of. I can show live footage when it's availlable from say BBC news feeds plus any recorded stuff I can find. If I can find a feed I could show every single stage start to finish and base whole days around them class by class.

Ideas more than welcome - let your imaginations run wild guys and gals, help me enthuse some 11-16 year olds and get some learning done at the same time. :laugh:

fossyant

Ride It Like You Stole It!
The girls will most likely be a bit 'not happy', and 80% of the lads....... believe you me....

Fortunately for me, my son and daughter are 'brain washed'......doesn't work on the missus though...left it too late....

My son saw my 'Official Guide' and he said..oh great is it on soon...... he thought the fold out maps etc were ace...... might get him to fill in the positions each day....he'd love that.........

Gradients - percentages and ratios - and get them to simulate what they think it equates to in real life.

I can see it now, Mont Ventoux using a mtere rule and an assortment of text books....

OP
OP
nigelnorris

nigelnorris