Touring advice

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Moonlight

Hey guys,

I have been cycling for about a year now and have a cheapy halfrauds roadie (love it =D). Was wondering what it would be like with 48L of pannier on the back? Will most likely be considerable weight, will the Ali frame handle it ok?

Any advice would be great.

I'm a student and looking at budget!, so buying a touring bike would be unrealistic, and having two sets of panniers undesirable.

Thanks!

ML.

Tynan

Veteran
wild guess without seeing the bike is yeah, it's going to be a strong bike

seano

You should have no problem provided you take extra care fitting the racks. Dont trust your LBS. Tape bars under fixtures, throw away the nuts and bolts you got with pannier racks, Go to B&Q or engineer supply shop and buy stainless steel hex head nuts and bolts, allow for a locking nut on every bolt. Enjoy the tour.

Noodley

seano said:
You should have no problem provided you take extra care fitting the racks. Dont trust your LBS. Tape bars under fixtures, throw away the nuts and bolts you got with pannier racks, Go to B&Q or engineer supply shop and buy stainless steel hex head nuts and bolts, allow for a locking nut on every bolt. Enjoy the tour.

Student can just about open a tin of beans :angry: Little chance of knowing what you are on about...:blush:

Big T

Guru
The frame will be alright but I would worry about the wheels.

Don't fall into the trap of taking too much stuff with you. You only need one set of evening clothes and 2 sets of cycling clothes, one of which you'll be wearing. I've done a 2 week tour of the Alps with just a saddle bag and handlebar bag.

If you're camping - that's another matter. you'll have to take shed loads of stuff and i certainly doubt the normal wheels will cope.

RedBike