Touring Help

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Garjenkins

How do,

I am a bit of a beginner in the cycling world.......I started riding 24 miles a day (12 to and 12 back from work) about 3 months ago. I have got a decent hybrid ridge back 8 spd hub - I want to do a tour for about a week (like London to Scotland 500 miles ish?).

I havent got those clippy pedal shoes...........and by the fact that I called them "clippy pedal shoes" you can tell Im enthusiastic but know badger all about whether something like this ride would impossible without the right equipment or whether if my heart and fitness is up to scratch it will be fine.

Anyone got any pointers, wisdom....words of encouragement?;)

Cathryn

Legendary Member
Hey. Welcome to the forum - with mileage like that you're hardly a beginner!

My honest opinion is that you're a tourer if you get on your bike and go on a tour. It's nice to have a touring bike and all the 'stuff' but all you need is a bike you're comfy on and some panniers and you're a tourer. I toured for three years (only week long trips at a stretch admittedly) on a hybrid with some halfords panniers (lined with bin liners) and had an awesome time.

Personally, I hate clippy pedal shoes. I tried them last year and they spoilt cycling for me so I'm back in normal shoes. In my normal shoes, I did a month long trip across Europe over some Alps and managed perfectly well without clips, so don't get hung up about them.

For your Scottish trip, I'd suggest the following stuff.

- Bike. Your hybrid sounds great but you might struggle on 8 gears up some of the steeper hills.
- Panniers. Try the Halfords one and line them with bin liners and you'll be fine.
- Padded shorts x 2
- Something to wear on top x 2
- Fleece
- Waterproof jacket and trousers (items not to skimp on)
- Change of clothes for the evening
- Fleeces, long sleeved tops etc dependent on how chilly a body you have. I like being warm.
- Padded gloves