Transporting Bikes

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Greg8

Hi

Got stuck in the horrendous traffic a week last sunday at Delamere forest didnt check web and two hellruns were on.

I had my son with me and we had 2 bikes on the back of our estate the rack is a Halfords cheapo which I have been using for about 12 years without incident.

To cut a long story short I was waved in by a traffic policeman well actually we werent moving and hadnt moved for ages!.

He explained that my rear number plate was obscured and gave me a stern warning and lots of interesting information about driving safely etc etc etc.

So replacement rack needed asap for 2 bikes which wont obscure rear number fit on a vw passat estate and also on an Audi a2 hatchback dont mind paying a bit extra for a decent make ie thule etc any help advice welcome.

Spinney

Bimbleur extraordinaire
You could buy a lighting board instead. Not sure how much they cost. You would also need an electric socket fitted to the car(s) (£50 ish), and a number plate for each car.

I use a towball mounted rack, which has lights and a numberplate on it. £100 ish, but you also need to get the towball fitted to the car.

OP
OP
G

Greg8

The estate has roof rails and have thought about bars but I dont always have access to it and have to use the hatchback so wanted one rack that would suit both if possible dont want the expense hassle of 2 different systems if possible.

Globalti

Legendary Member
You own an estate and you can't get two bikes and two people inside? Why did you buy an estate?

Why have the bikes outside the car, vulnerable to theft, damage and road salt? They will also wreck the aerodynamics of the car.

We regularly have 3 + 3 in our Passat and have even had 4 + 4 when the two in the back were small boys, squeezed onto the 2/3 part of the back seat.