Trike access to canals etc

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

upandover

Guru
Hello,

I finally sold my upright bike, and I'm now eagerly shopping for a recumbent so I can cycle again!

I'm leaning toward a 2 wheeler, as my sense is it gives greater access, for example though parks, down canals, through anti-motorbike gates and on shared bike lanes etc. I've no practical experience though, and so aren't sure of how true this is - or if I'm talking nonsense? (I'm also impatient to ride again, and at my budget, trikes are more readily available.)

I'd appreciate any words of experience. Trikes obviously have some brilliant benefits. How much are you limited on yours in terms of access, please

Thanks
James

Last edited:

Squirrel Chaser

Get an ice recumbent trike. Brilliant machines

Venod

Eh up
I am not a trike owner, but ride a lot of canals, greenaways etc, I could not ride the same routes with a trike, which is a shame, some of the barriers to progress are sometimes a pain in the neck on two wheels and proberly impossible with a trike

Last edited:

Squirrel Chaser

I have a trike and never have any issues,don't use it very often but it's nice to have.
Go most places with it but it's on slicks and 700c rear so only for dry fast road work.
It does fit through most vehicle deterrent gates but not ideal.
I just plain my route according to this.
It's fast so you might find riding with others tedious.
If Iam Triking then it's with others as average speed is up in the early 20s...
It's light to carry through kissing gates and over fields but not really that sort of thing

grldtnr

Be wary, most tadpole trikes are a standard size over the front axle/ beam, which is roughly 700mm , ( a Dutch standard for cycle paths, so that 2 opposing trikers can safely pass, I believe.)
British standard door width is around the same, so be sure you can have access, to anywhere you might want to roam.