Tube explodes, taking out rim - advice needed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

skupp

Hi guys,

First post, but have been lurking on the site for a few weeks now.

Just started commuting to work, around a 30 mile round trip, but today as I was cycling into work (sun shining, birds singing), my inner tube exploded, taking out the side of my rim.

Tyre was inflated to 120psi, so not quite sure what happened to cause this damage...

Question is, do I just need a new rim, or should I buy a new wheel?

My bike is a Langster single speed, the damaged rim is my front wheel, mavic cxp 10, 622x13, quick release.

Any advise gratefully received, as I am a total newbie in regards to cycling.

Cheers!
Daniel.

domtyler

Über Member
Never heard of that happening before and sounds like a severe manufacturing fault to me unless you have damaged the rims somehow?

Would you be able to post a picture? I'd be quite interested to see it.

gbb

Legendary Member
I'd be inclined to think it's the rim that's failed...that in turn causing the tube to blow (once the rims gone, there's nothing to contain the tube then )
Old wheel ?, damaged, worn braking surface ?

As dom says...pics would be interesting.

Tim Bennet.

Entirely Average Member
How old was the rim? If it was new then there was some sort of fault that needs pursuing. But if the brake surface was well worn, then that is what happens if you leave it too long!

You can get a new rim built into the wheel, but unless the hub is a good quality one and has been well maintained it may not be worth preserving, especially as perfectly good wheel sets seem to cost less and less these days.

Steve Austin

The Marmalade Kid
Some tyres and rims don't work too well together and can blow off quite easily at that sort of pressure. Was the inner tube too big? ie rated for a wider tyre?
and was the rim worn?
worn rim+big inner tube+big tyre+narrow rim=blown tyre ime

Globalti

Legendary Member