Uni Research Project - helmets?

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Hawk

Veteran
Hi all,

I am considering hanging about university over summer to do some research. I'm an aero-mechanical engineer and regular cyclist. Research can be in any area and one possible area would be cycle helmets *gulp*

Lots of critics think that in a typical collision between head and ground, the helmet *might* do OK. But many think that as soon as you raise impact energy very slightly, the helmet cracks instead of compressing and this represents much less energy absorbed. They think helmets are "designed to compress" and cracking means they "haven't worked". I could look in to this and see what causes a helmet to crack during an impact and theoretically work out the energy dissipation in such a circumstance. I could run static testing and would likely be able to run some dynamic testing also.

People also think that at higher impact energies (e.g cyclist-vehicle collision), the helmet will do very little during the point of contact and then present a risk of snagging or causing a torsional neck injury (twisting). I could therefore look in to how much helmets tend to snag and at the torque produced by a helmet when it does snag compared to a situation where a head clips the same object but does not 'snag'.

There are other possible fields of research in this area too. However the scope of such a project would need to be well defined after looking in to budget and even time constraints.

Does anyone have any thoughts on all that, or suggestions for similar research in this field, something you've "always wondered" about, for example?

Cheers
Anton / Hawk

shouldbeinbed

Rollin' along