University - Brompton Concept

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

USAMD2709

Imagine you're running late for work in the morning, you commute by cycling in the city, and you walk in to your utility room to find your Brompton has a slow puncture, to drive or get a cab would mean serious lateness due to the congestion during rush hours, and to walk to the tube is a 25 min walk, and a tube ride. what do you do?

I am currently a second year student studying 'product design' at the university of Brighton UK, and for my year project i have been set a brief to design and produce a product which will fall under the Brompton label. I have done some research into Brompton and its target market, markets it could appeal too, its products and possibilities for the future.
I have come up with a concept which is essentially an interchangeable Brompton wheel, the rim detaching from the internal hub allowing the owner to quickly replace a puncture rim with a new, change to snow/rough terrain/slick/wet road tyres, or customize your Brompton further.
photostream

http://www.flickr.com/photos/usamd2709/ ... hotostream ...Image
the model is a little crude but it explains the rotate and remove concept of inter change-able rims

I have aimed the product at a road/race market and appearance to attract a target market, mainly men who want a bit more macho from their Brompton, who miss their agile, quick road bikes on the daily Brompton commute, and want a bit more 'boom' in their Brompton. However i feel the practicality and function can be applied to a more conventional wheel.

the question i pose to you forum members is would the product sit well in the Brompton label, or would it be too unconventional to the seemingly conservative Brompton owners?

RecordAceFromNew

Swinging Member
Nice looking wheel!