Upgrade from 2x7 to 2x10 speed

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Archeress

Veteran
I have been the beneficiary of a friends misfortune. About a year ago she had a very slow speed accident that caused her to break her neck. Fortunately she survived without any major paralysis, but has difficulty with her hands both in sensation and slightly limited movement. However, she found that she had difficulty shifting gears on her road bike with its 105 brifters as she could not tell which lever she was using. She decided to convert to flat bars as the shifting was going to be easier and I became the proud owner of a pair of 105 brifters and a tiagra rear mech (for a contribution towards her bikes rebuild).

I only have a single road bike, a Carrera Zelos, which many of you probably would not want to upgrade or consider worth upgrading, but as I'm a student I have little money to purchase an equivalent bike coming with 105/tiagra kit.

A little more backstory... when purchasing the bike, the brifters that were fitted rattled so Halfords replaced the brifters with 2x8 speed so an upgrade was always on the cards and I had the bits to rebuild the back wheel with about a year ago. After my exam next week, I shall be visiting with one of my club members to rebuild the back wheel as he has all the kit (literally the complete Park Tools catalog), so the upgrade will start. After the back wheel has been rebuilt, I have all the tools and most of the knowledge I need to do the rest.

I have the cables and bar tape, a 10 speed cassette, 10 speed chain and just ordered a FSA square taper 10speed chainset, is there anything missing from any knowledgable peeps regarding this project? Will I have to get a replacement front mech or will it work okay with the new brifters?

Certainly going to be among the best equipped Carrera once it's finished!

Hugs
Archeress x

raleighnut

Legendary Member