Upright Citizens

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Drago

Legendary Member
As many of you know, I'm a Search and Rescue volunteer. I'm a qualified Search Manager, of whom there are less than 80 in the UK, so it's a rare and valuable skill.

Now I find myself a man of leisure I'm enjoying retirement but I'm finding the adjustment a little awkward in terms of finding something meaningful to do with my time. I've enjoyed the dog walking, cups of coffee, feet up never missing an episode of The Archers, but feel the need for something a little more substantial to focus on.

So, with that in mind I've put myself forward as the teams Chairman in this months elections. The previous incumbent did a stellar job,and I'm in awe of the work he has done, but he works increasingly abroad so is unable to devote the time he feels necessary to do a quality job. Time is a commodity of which I've no shortage, so I'm well prepared there.

I'm fairly confident I'll get the job, bit I'm not a shoo-in. I reckon I'm 6/10 of getting it. My opponent is less qualified, but more experienced, so in terms of fitness for the role we're probably fairly even. I'll know soon enough.

Anyway, I'll keep you all updated as things progress, but in the meantime I was wondering if any of you fine folk do any kind of volunteering and if so, what do you do?

Mrs M

Guru
I used to volunteer for Cat's Protection :smile:
I fostered cats short or long term until they went to their new home.
Was very patient and had great success taming the vicious (frightened) wee feral kittens. Having a tiny hissing, spitting ball of fur transform and climb up and snuggle under my chin, purrring away was magic :wub:
Trouble was I kept on keeping them and ended up with 4 :ohmy:
Don't do it anymore though as things changed and it became more about the "power trip" of some of the old bags on the committee rather than helping the cats. :sad:
Latest cat came from SSPCA.

EltonFrog

Legendary Member