Use of protien

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Trigger369

Über Member
My mate keeps telling me I should be taking some sort of protien shakes because I'm cycling . I'm only doing x2 15miles a week and a30mile on a sunday .
Should I be taking protien shakes and if so what sort and how much . Thanks

no

dfthe1

https://www.theguardian.com/lifeand...rs-flushing-money-down-the-toilet-say-experts

Tom Sanders, professor emeritus of nutrition and dietetics at King’s College London, said people were being taken in by “nutri-babble”. “There’s been a lot of hype in gyms pushing high-protein shakes, there’s also a need to get rid of a waste product from the dairy industry, which is whey protein,” he said. “It’s a lot of crap, a way of selling a cheap product at a high price.”

Can't remember whether it was "Trust me, I'm a Doctor" or "The Truth About..." on the Beeb, but they did a feature on supplements and protein shakes etc. The verdict was that they're a waste of money - your body self-regulates on nutrient uptake, and any excess just gets pissed away when you go for a wee.

Their recommendation was that you're better off having a glass of milk (which is an excellent recovery drink btw) and / or a slice of wholemeal toast with peanut butter or something of that ilk.

In other words, just eat a good, balanced diet.

gaijintendo

Veteran
They are a scam, but it is utterly genius.

• You workout hard.
  • You get a sweet reward for that, which also makes you feel good because it's good for you.

That right there, is incredible positive reinforcement. Why would you not like a milkshake as a reward for hard work? Sounds awesome, and completely the kind of thing you miss as an adult. It's a marketers dream.

It is also completely unnecessary, even if you have a moderately crap UK diet.

gaijintendo

Veteran