Using hub dynamos to charge gadgets and gizmis

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

vorsprung

Veteran
I'm going to build a Schmidt/USB charger for my phone. I've figured out what bits and pieces I need, I think I probably have them all lying around

ChrisBailey

Chris. Thanks. I must admit I hadn't considered powering the GPS direct.

I was considering the pedalpower cable as most devices are USB-chargeable so the ability to change the output voltage from the e-werk looks a little redundant.

Andy

I'm not an expert but I think you will get exactly the same results with the pedalpower+ universal-i-cable as I got with my Kemo. I checked a couple of reviews and they show the same symptoms as with the Kemo. Just because it's got a USB attachment doesn't mean it will work with USB devices seems to be the line here. I had two separate USB devices (GPS & phone) and they both showed the same issue.

If I buy again it will have to have an adjustable voltage regulator, such as the e-werk.

I'm very keen to hear how yours goes.

Chris

OP
OP
A

andym

Über Member
interesting stuff. but would it take forever to charge a DSLR camera battery or a laptop battery?

In past discussions I've seen people have suggested that keeping a netbook battery charged might be a bit ambitious. But I guess it might depend on how sparing you were with it (eg 30 minutes a day, no wifi etc).

ChrisB

I was thinking of using the PP to simply charge AA batteries or to charge an iPod direct.

I'm not techy enough to know what the problem is when you go faster than 16mph - whether the otput voltage of the current supplied to the device (ie GPS) is greater than it should be or whether it simply stops supplying current altogether. So it may nit necessarily be a problem with the adjustability of the output voltage (although the e-werk may be better at maintaining a stable output voltage).

MAC - thanks for that. And I thought I carried a lot of gadgets!

OP
OP
A

andym