Visual Awareness of Cyclists

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Rickshaw Phil

Overconfidentii Vulgaris
A note from the moderators:

We know that like helmets, high visibility gear can create a lot of contentious debate. We ask you all to bear in mind that this questionnaire is for a high school project so please keep your comments constructive and polite at all times.

Anyone being rude to this new member risks being excluded from the discussion.

gavgav

Guru
Hello Biking World,

I am a high school student who is working on an engineering project to fix the problem of visual awareness and safety of bikers. I compiled a list of questions that are related to the issue in order to give me a statistical analysis of how to solve my problem. The link to the survey is below. Thank You.

https://docs.google.com/a/k12.frisc...bM_7xqgN3GqEhOvl-KfhijXVekcSTh1goGGw/viewform

Sincerely,

James
I don't seem to be able to click on any of the questions in your survey?

Reactions: mjr

snorri

Legendary Member
Survey completed.
The degree of visibility varies at different times of the year, eg the low sun in winter months can be dangerous for cyclists as drivers fail to make allowance for not seeing what might be in front of them.
Bicycle lighting is a legal requirement during darkness or poor visibility, and not something law abiding cyclists can choose to buy or not buy.
I'm not so sure that cyclists improving their visibility will have a greatly beneficial effect on their safety. The problem come from the failure of motor vehicle drivers to observe, either due to driving at inappropriate speed, poor observational skills or allowing themselves to be distracted from the task in hand.

Last edited:

cyberknight

As long as I breathe, I attack.
Have you signed into your Google accounts?

Ah, right, I don't have one of them. Will set one up, thanks.

Really should not need to create a google account for a survery.

MontyVeda