Vocabulary question.

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

MontyVeda

a short-tempered ill-controlled small-minded troll
I've "renovated" an old BSA Piston into a lamp: doesn't really work for me
you've re-purposed it :okay:

"Thanking you" will earn someone either a glare or a hoot of derision from me depending upon my mood

I've often pondered, does one spell the abbreviation of 'casual'?
Kazh? (Since the abbreviation sounds Slavic and there's no hard c in that language group.)

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
I converted the top of a lorry piston into an ashtray.

The driver of a coach I worked on did that.

By driving it into the ground with no coolant he melted the top of the pistons, welding them to the equally poorly head.

Far better mechanics than me managed to save the engine, but as a young apprentice I did hand on a few tools.

raleighnut

Legendary Member
The driver of a coach I worked on did that.

By driving it into the ground with no coolant he melted the top of the pistons, welding them to the equally poorly head.

Far better mechanics than me managed to save the engine, but as a young apprentice I did hand on a few tools.
Mine came from a Foundry I worked at, we used to buy 'scrap' aluminium and a set of 6 were in one load, I think it's a from Gardiner engine 120mm diameter with a 'Heron' type combustion chamber on the crown

Pale Rider

Legendary Member
Mine came from a Foundry I worked at, we used to buy 'scrap' aluminium and a set of 6 were in one load, I think it's a from Gardiner engine 120mm diameter with a 'Heron' type combustion chamber on the crown

Not sure who made the wrecked engine, but it was mid-mounted in a touring coach.

One of my jobs was to remove a few pairs of seats to improve access.

We worked on it from inside the coach and from rolling around on the ground outside - no chance of it fitting on any lift we had.

The engine came out balanced on a couple of trolley jacks.