Watch / Bike computer

Page may contain affiliate links. Please see terms for details.

Kilbourne

Regular
Evening People,
Really enjoying my cycling and getting in to it however biking home today my damn strava lost signal! Which I know is not nothing major but I am having competitions with some people at work regarding distances etc.

So I have looked at the Garmin watches and fitbits etc but I am after something as simple as recording the run and linking in to strava, is there a basic and cheap watch/computer that has GPS and will connect with strava?

Thank you

KneesUp

Guru
You can get GPS loggers that you get the data off using a computer for £20 to £30. In theory they're great as the battery lasts ages (no screen, and it only has one job) but I've no actual experience of them.

bikeman66

Although not what you might call cheap (but not ridiculously expensive either) the Garmin Edge 510 is a great unit, which will record every detail about a ride that most cyclists could ever want and will Bluetooth to your phone so you can upload to Strava. I got mine from Wiggle for £195.00. It uses both the American GPS and the Russian GLONASS satellite systems, so positioning data is fantastically reliable, and infinitely more so than Strava.

If you set up a Garmin Connect account you'll be able to take your work colleagues to the cleaners with information about your rides........ Average speed, distance, elevation, ascent, descent, temperature etc, etc.

I've still got Strava on my phone, but haven't used it since I've owned the Garmin.

Milkfloat

An Peanut
I have a cheap TomTom watch/bike mount combination that came with a cadence/speed sensor. I paid £70 and teamed it up with an HRM from Lidl. This then syncs up via a docking cradle or bluetooth to a variety of sites including Strava and Endomondo. It seems to work very well, but the lack of auto pause is a little annoying when I get in towns.

lee1980sim